Republic of Ireland

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon

The Republic of Ireland Centre celebrates television in the area, organising a range of events and awards throughout the year.

Events cover a wide range of areas, from engineering, programming and production to the political issues affecting television in all its aspects.

The ROI Centre organises the RTS Student TV Awards each year in five categories, Animation Comedy & Entertainment, Drama, Factual, News and Short Feature.   The award recipients of each category go forward  for judging in the finals in London in June. (See AWARDS page for full information).

The Republic of Ireland Centre celebrates its 21st anniversary in 2017, and is particularly interested to welcome young people - especially students and those already working in the media as members.

Free membership is available to students and, indeed, at the other end of the spectrum, reduced rates are available to those now retired from a lifetime in television or associated industries.

If you would like to learn more about the Republic of Ireland Centre or if you're interested in becoming a member, please communicate in the first instance with one of the following:

The Republic of Ireland Centre Committee :

Chairman: Charles Byrne Tel: +353 87 251 3092 Email:

Deputy Chair: Aidan Maguire.

Hon.Secretary:  Marie Penston  Email:

Treasurer: Enda O'Kane 

Committee: John O'Neill, Peter McEvoy, Stella Downey, Sue Murray, Noel Smyth, Drago Radic, Dr. Helen Doherty, Agnes Cogan