North East and the Border

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon

The North East & The Border Centre caters for the broadcasters, freelances and students of the North East of England and Cumbria. 

Most of our meetings are in the Newcastle area, but we also hold events in Teesside and Carlisle. The majority are on weekday evenings, but on occasion we ring the changes with weekend or daytime meetings. We aim to provide a mix of topics to suit everyone interested in television in the area, at whatever level. Click on the Events button for the latest details — visitors are always welcome.

Our annual North East & The Border Centre Awards Dinner is now an established high point in the region's television year. The 2016 Awards were held at The Hilton Hotel, Gateshead on February 27th 2016 — details in the Awards section.

The RTS considers it essential to encourage and foster the next generation of television practitioners. The North East & The Border Centre's Young People's Media Festival is an important event in the regional calendar.

For information on the RTS North East & The Border Centre, email Centre Secretary Jill Graham.


2017/2018 Committee

Will Nicholson (Chairman), Joanna Makepeace (Vice Chairman), Jill Graham (Honorary Secretary), Faheem Aslam (Honorary Treasurer)

Graeme Aldous (Webmaster), Fahima Chowdhury, Steve Hunneysett, Jamie Hutchinson, Chris Jackson, Garth Jeffery, Rupert Jones-Lee, Christine Llewellyn-Reeve, John Myers, Graeme Thompson.

Co-optees: Michaela Byrne, Tony Edwards, Victoria Griffin, Julie Jude, Michael Mitchell, Mark Murray, Andrew Robson, Kim Tserkezie.